Olowojebutu wins  Lagos State UNILAG Alumni chairmanship election

Chike Ojukwu

Dr. Benjamin Olowojebutu has emerged winner, as the Chairman of  Lagos State branch of University of Lagos Alumni Association.

Dr.  Olowojebutu cruised to victory, after defeating two other candidates. The election which  held last Saturday, in  the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University premises was a keen contest.

The election, organized by an electoral committee chaired by Prof Fatai Badru was adjudged as ‘the most transparent in the history of the association.’

The University Management Team led by Prof Toyin Ogundipe was applauded for providing an enabling environment for the election to hold peacefully. In a statement issued immediately after the inauguration, he  assured his supporters that all the campaign promises remain sacrosanct in rebuilding the association to the admirations of all and sundry.

He promised that the new administration would be very inclusive, with a view to accommodating different shades of opinions geared towards improving the UNILAG brand across the globe.

In order to effectively manage the affairs of the association, the chairman said he would  mobilize resources, within the first one hundred days in office, to secure a new secretariat for the association at Ikeja, the State capital.

Other members of the council include the following: Olusegun Adeleke, Vice Chairman 1, Temitope Adeyemi, Vice Chairman, as well as  Ebun Oluranti,     Secretary and  Akanbi Saheed,  Assistant Secretary. Others are Ogunkoya  Omotayo, Financial Secretary, Dr Priscillia Etiokpa, Welfare Secretary, Salvador Taoheed Ifedolapo, Treasurer and Onikoyi Adekunle as Public Relations Officer.

Ayinde Kayode is the new  Social Secretary, while Ajasa Olusola is the Ex-Officio member.

Comment here